Always Name Your NPC’s Beforehand


I know I like to present myself as a guy who doesn’t make a lot of mistakes. So much for that.

My players and I started  a new Pathfinder game. Ordinarily, this wouldn’t be much cause for alarm, but it was taking place in Galt, a French Revolution-style area of Golarion.

Sure, no problem. Well, the PC’s were attacked by some thugs. And I didn’t name the boss of the thugs. It didn’t even occur to me that this would matter. So I plunked down some pennies and this bottle cap from a belgian beer that I had served to a friend of mine the other day. It read “Biere de Trappiste” on the label.

So we get around to rolling initiatives, and someone says “What’s the boss’s name?”

Me: (Trying to cover my butt) You don’t know. Are you going to ask him?

Player: It’s a little too late for that now. Let me see. (Looks at the bottle cap. Reads the words “Biere de Trappiste”) Okay. He is now Trappiste.That sounds vaguely French.

Me: (Trying desperately to figure a way out of this mess, and realizing there is none. Even if I were to name him later, I know my players. They will call him Trappiste forever) Okay. (Sighing inwardly) He is now Trappiste.

Even worse, the PC’s dropped him to negatives and he SURVIVED. 🙂 Now this guy is going to be on their tail, and I still can’t call him anything but “Trappiste.” Oh, well. Trappiste is now the villain. Unlucky them.

Still, to be fair, you should always name your NPC’s beforehand.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Upcoming Appearances

    Heroicon, Decatur, Illinois, May 15-17

    Michael will be appearing at Heroicon as a Special Guest, where he will run games and appear on panels. All proceeds from this convention go to benefit troops overseas with games, both donated and purchased, sponsored by a group called Games for Troops. I know it's a trek. Come join me anyway.

    Nexus Game Fair, Milwaukee, WI, June 25-28

    Michael will be appearing at Nexus Game Fair as a Special Guest, where he will run games and appear on Panels.

    Gencon, Indianapolis, IN, July 29-August 2.

    Michael will be attending Gencon and representing Blackwyrm Games, where his latest products will be playtested and he will have at least one signing.